Professional pruning that respects your trees

Living with trees

At Arbres et passion, we are trained and experienced pruners, putting our expertise to work to maintain the health of your trees for as long as possible. Servicing Vaudreuil, Valleyfield and the West Island, we take the time to fully understand your expectations and priorities, and evaluate the condition of your trees, whatever your pruning needs.

Maintaining a tree’s health offers several environmental benefits: improved air quality and a reduction in heat islands. We educate the public, cities, businesses and construction sites about the care and health of trees. Arbres et passion is a member of the Société internationale d’arboriculture Québec (SIAQ), which means you can count on a higher standard of quality and professionalism, backed by liability insurance. Jérémy Pharand, owner-pruner, is also a co-instructor for students studying arboriculture.

Tree pruning

Trees can offer you welcomed shade and privacy on your property. To maintain them in a safe condition and prolong their life, they must be properly pruned.

Caring for trees and shrubs may seem simple, but it is in fact quite complex. A tree’s growth is impacted to varying degrees each time it is pruned. It is therefore critical to trust this work to a qualified pruner who will take into account different factors, such as the surrounding environment, your goals and the state of the tree, to determine how best to cut the branches. At Arbres et passion, we take the time that is needed to accurately assess the situation in order to ensure that you enjoy the benefits of your trees for as long as possible.

We follow practices that respect the tree. This includes such practices as using vegetable oil to lubricate our chainsaws.

Why prune a tree?

Pruning stresses a tree. It is can be necessary, however, due to safety concerns or for the tree’s health. Pruning allows for the removal of dead or nuisance branches. It also improves the shape of a tree and promotes better ventilation and light penetration. For mature trees, a light maintenance routine is recommended for their care.

Working with spur-free cables

Pruning work is done with proper climbing techniques. We use cables suitable for elevated work that do not have spurs, since the latter dig into the trunk and cause “wounds” that can encourage the presence of insects, fungal spores and bacteria, which are the source of many tree illnesses. Spurs are only used when felling trees.

Topping: drastic and harmful

According to professional arborists, topping is a pruning technique that is highly destructive. It consists of the indiscriminate cutting of whole branches at the top of a tree right to their base, leaving only lateral and smaller branches. This technique reduces the life expectancy of a tree, exposes it to heatstroke, harmful insects and illness, and can even kill off parts of the tree.

Tree felling and stump removal

Do you have a tree on your property that needs felling? Work with a professional who has liability insurance. The advantages are many, especially when it comes to you and your loved ones’ safety. At Arbres et passion, we first do a detailed assessment of the tree’s condition to confirm that removal is indeed the best solution. If so, our expert team will carry out the work with proper equipment and techniques. The loss of a tree, as a result of a storm for instance, can diminish the attractiveness and comfort of your home. It is worth checking to see whether your home insurance offers compensation in such cases. Our specialists can determine the monetary value of the felled tree.

Situations in which a tree must be felled

  • It is dying or dead.
  • It is at risk of becoming uprooted and presents a danger to your property or to others.
  • It is jeopardizing a telephone line and pruning is not an option.
  • It is impeding the growth of a nearby tree.

Repurposing wood chips

All the debris obtained from felled trees is collected and used at our organic family farm. Your tree returns to the earth, helping to support our crops as organic material in our fields.

Our tools for felling trees and removing stumps

Bucket truck

Ensures work is carried out safely when it is too dangerous to climb a tree when pruning or felling.

Crane

Required for felling or pruning trees in tight spaces. It allows us to quickly and safely remove cut branches and trunks.

Grapple truck

Allows branches and stumps to be efficiently loaded on the truck without having to buck the entire tree on-site.

Stump cutter

Removes a stump once a tree has been felled. It is preferable to remove the stump in order to prevent regrowth or root rot.

Fertilization

Trees in the urban environment do not benefit from the natural cycle of nourishing compost from dead leaves or other plant material, since the soil around their base is typically trampled on and fallen leaves are collected in the fall. The addition of liquid fertilizer to the root system helps support the tree’s growth and health.

The advantages of fertilizing

The earth’s ecosystem is full of organisms that work together, and mycorrhizal mushrooms play a key role. Mycorrhizal fertilization allows a tree to absorb a greater quantity of nutrients and water and helps it to establish roots during planting or transplantation. It also contributes to the health of your trees by increasing their resistance to environmental stresses such as dry periods and illness. Mycorrhizal symbioses further help to maintain good soil quality and stimulate flowering and fruiting.

Emerald ash borer treatment

Tree are regularly attacked by insects and illnesses. Telltale signs such as defoliation of the crown, bark necrosis, withering leaves, appearance of mushrooms and dead branches can alert you to these attacks.

When to treat?

Emerald ash borer treatment is a preventative measure applied to ash trees. The treatment is delivered via injection and must be done in the summer months, throughout the tree’s lifetime. The frequency varies depending on the estimated population of the insect in your area. A treatment may be required yearly or every two years. Our team has the expertise to recommend the appropriate frequency for your trees and do the treatment.

Bracing

Bracing supports and reinforces parts of the tree that are at risk of breaking due to structural or other weaknesses. The installation of one or several braces greatly reduces the likelihood of branches or parts of the trunk breaking off, thus prolonging the tree’s life.

Fruit tree pruning

Fruit trees, such as apple and pear trees, need regular pruning to improve the quality and quantity of their fruit. Pruning exposes the ripening fruit to more sunlight.

When to prune fruit trees?

The best time to prune fruit trees depends mainly on your goals for fruit production. If you don’t want to hinder your harvest, you must prune before flowering but only once temperatures warm, generally after February. If you don’t care about the size of the harvest, you can prune your fruit trees at any time. Young fruit trees need to be pruned for shape, which will determine their structure over the long term. Entrust the proper pruning of your fruit trees to our team of arborists.

Have a tree that needs pruning or felling?

Testimonials

Get a quote

Are you concerned about tree branches that are too close to your home? Do you want to allow more natural light to reach your backyard without cutting down trees? Whatever your goal, our team will take the time to understand your needs and recommend the best solution for you.

For tree pruning and felling in Vaudreuil, Valleyfield and the West Island, call on the services of a trained and experienced team, fully accredited and insured, that can guarantee all work will be done safely and expertly, with respect for the environment.

Arbres et Passion

PHONE : 514 754-6041
EMAIL : info@arbresetpassion.com

Élagage professionnel et respectueux de vos arbres

Cohabiter avec les arbres

Chez Arbres et passion, nous sommes des élagueurs diplômés et expérimentés qui avons le souci de préserver vos arbres le plus longtemps possible. Nous prendrons le temps de vérifier vos attentes et vos priorités ainsi que d’évaluer l’état de votre arbre, quel que soit votre besoin en élagage d’arbre à Vaudreuil, Valleyfield ou dans l’Ouest-de-l’Île.

Préserver les arbres comporte de nombreux avantages environnementaux quant à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’air et à la limitation des îlots de chaleur. Nous éduquons les particuliers, les villes, les entreprises et les chantiers de construction quant à l’entretien et la santé de vos arbres. Arbres et passion est membre de la Société internationale d’arboriculture Québec (SIAQ), vous assurant une qualité et un professionnalisme supérieurs ainsi qu’une assurance responsabilité. Jérémy Pharand, propriétaire-élagueur, est également co-enseignant auprès des étudiants en élagage.

Élagage d’arbre

Vous appréciez l’ombre et l’intimité que vous procurent les arbres sur votre terrain. Saviez-vous qu’un élagage d’arbres bien fait est nécessaire pour les préserver dans un état sécuritaire en milieu résidentiel et prolonger leur vie?

L’entretien des arbres et arbustes peut sembler simple, mais il n’en est rien. Chaque taille d’arbre a des impacts plus ou moins importants sur sa croissance. Il est donc primordial de confier ce travail à un émondeur qualifié qui tiendra compte de différents facteurs tels que l’environnement immédiat de l’arbre, vos objectifs et l’état de l’arbre pour déterminer quelle coupe de branches est la plus appropriée. Chez Arbres et passion, nous prenons le temps nécessaire à bien évaluer la situation afin de nous assurer que vous profiterez de vos arbres longtemps.

Nous adoptons des pratiques respectueuses de l’arbre notamment en utilisant une huile végétale pour la lubrification des chaînes de nos tronçonneuses.

Pourquoi procéder à l’élagage d’un arbre?

L’élagage ou l’émondage d’arbre est stressant pour celui-ci. Ceci s’avère parfois nécessaire pour des questions de sécurité ou de santé de l’arbre. L’élagage permettra d’enlever les branches mortes ou interférentes, d’améliorer la forme de l’arbre et de favoriser une meilleure aération et pénétration de la lumière. Par ailleurs, un entretien léger des arbres matures est recommandé.

Travail aux câbles sans les éperons

Les travaux d’élagages sont effectués avec les techniques d’ascension adéquates. Nous utilisons des câbles appropriés pour le travail en hauteur, car les éperons perforent le tronc et causent des blessures propices à la propagation d’insectes, aux spores de champignons et aux bactéries, ce qui pourrait occasionner de nombreuses maladies. Les éperons seront utilisés seulement lors d’abattage d’arbre.

L’étêtage : une méthode à proscrire

Selon les arboriculteurs professionnels, l’étêtage est la technique d’élagage la plus nuisible pour les arbres. Il consiste à couper des branches jusqu’à la hauteur des tiges et des branches latérales. Cette technique entraîne une diminution de l’espérance de vie de l’arbre, l’expose aux insolations, aux insectes nuisibles et aux maladies jusqu’à la mort d’une partie de l’arbre.

Abattage et essouchement d’arbres

Vous envisagez l’abattage d’arbres sur votre terrain? Choisissez un professionnel qui détient une assurance responsabilité. Les avantages sont nombreux notamment en termes de sécurité tant pour vous, vos proches que vos biens. Chez Arbres et passion, nous vérifions d’abord que l’abattage est bien la seule solution par une évaluation minutieuse de son état. Dans l’affirmative, nous procédons aux travaux avec notre équipe spécialisée et les équipements adéquats. La perte de votre arbre enlève cachet et confort à votre résidence? Il est possible que votre assurance habitation prévoie des dédommagements. Nos spécialistes pourront procéder à l’évaluation de la valeur pécuniaire de l’arbre abattu suite à une tempête.

Les circonstances qui conduisent à l’abattage d’un arbre

  • s’il est dépéri ou mort;
  • si le risque qu’il se déracine est dangereux pour autrui ou pour vos biens;
  • s’il entrave une voie de communication sans possibilité d’élagage;
  • s’il pousse à proximité d’un autre arbre, nuisant à sa croissance.

Revalorisation des copeaux de bois

Tous les résidus de votre arbre lors de l’abattage sont ramassés et utilisés sur notre ferme biologique familiale. Votre arbre retourne ainsi à la terre en servant de matière organique dans nos champs.

Nos outils de travail lors de l’abattage et de l’essouchement d’arbre

Camion nacelle

Utilisé pour des questions de sécurité lorsqu’il est trop risqué de grimper dans l’arbre pour procéder aux travaux d’abattage ou d’élagage.

Grue

Appropriée lors de travaux d’abattage ou d’élagage en espace restreint, elle permet de retirer rapidement et sécuritairement les branches et troncs abattus.

Camion avec pince pour le chargement

Permet le chargement rapide des branches et souches sur le camion sans avoir à procéder au débitage entier de l’arbre sur place.

Dessoucheuse

Permet d’enlever une souche suite à l’abattage. Il est préférable de retirer une souche afin d’éviter une repousse non désirée et empêcher le pourrissement des racines.

Fertilisation

Les arbres en milieux urbains ne peuvent profiter du cycle naturel du compostage des feuilles et autres végétaux notamment parce que le sol à leur base est piétiné et parce que les feuilles mortes sont ramassées à l’automne. Avec l’injection de fertilisant liquide dans les racines, nous pouvons faire une différence dans la croissance et la santé de l’arbre.

Les avantages de la fertilisation

L’écosystème terrestre est riche de collaboration de nombreux organismes parmi lesquels les champignons mycorhiziens jouent un rôle primordial. La fertilisation par la mycorhize permet aux arbres d’absorber plus de nutriments et d’eau et aide à leur enracinement lors du semis ou de la transplantation. Elle contribue à la santé de vos arbres en augmentant sa tolérance aux stress environnementaux comme la sécheresse et les maladies. Les symbioses mycorhiziennes aident également à maintenir une bonne qualité de sol contribuant ainsi à stimuler la floraison et la fructification.

Traitement de l’agrile du frêne

Les arbres sont régulièrement attaqués par les insectes et les maladies. Des signes précurseurs peuvent vous alerter sur ces attaques comme la constatation d’une défoliation de la cime, de la nécrose de l’écorce, du flétrissement des feuilles, de l’apparition de champignons ou encore la présence de plusieurs branches mortes.

Quand procéder au traitement?

Le traitement de l’agrile du frêne est effectué à titre préventif sur les frênes. Ce traitement par injection devra être fait pendant toute la vie de l’arbre, en saison estivale. La fréquence varie selon la population estimée d’insectes dans votre secteur. Ainsi, un traitement peut s’avérer nécessaire à tous les ans, sinon aux deux ans. Notre équipe détient l’expertise nécessaire pour vous recommander la fréquence appropriée et procéder au traitement lorsque requis.

Haubanage

Le haubanage a pour but de consolider et de renforcer des parties d’arbres susceptibles de se briser en raison de déficiences structurales ou autres. L’installation d’un ou de plusieurs haubans diminue grandement les risques de bris de branches ou parties du tronc, afin de prolonger la vie de votre arbre.

Taille d’arbres fruitiers

Les arbres fruitiers comme les pommiers et les poiriers ont besoin d’être régulièrement taillés pour améliorer la qualité et la production des fruits, la taille favorisant la pénétration des rayons solaires.

Quand tailler les arbres fruitiers?

Le moment propice pour tailler les arbres fruitiers dépend principalement de vos attentes en termes de production de fruits. Si vous souhaitez ne pas affecter vos récoltes, il faut procéder à la taille avant la floraison, mais attendre que les gros froids soient passés, généralement après février. Si la quantité de fruits produits vous importe peu, il est possible de procéder à la taille de vos arbres fruitiers à n’importe quel moment. Les jeunes arbres fruitiers nécessitent une taille de formation qui déterminera leur structure à long terme. Pour vous assurer d’une taille adéquate de vos arbres fruitiers, confiez le travail à notre équipe d’arboriculteurs.

Vous avez un arbre à élaguer ou abattre?

Témoignages

Demande de soumission

La proximité de branches de votre arbre avec votre maison vous inquiète? Vous souhaitez donner un peu plus d’éclairage naturel à votre cour sans procéder à un abattage? Quelle que soit votre préoccupation pour votre arbre, notre équipe prendra le temps de comprendre vos besoins pour vous conseiller la meilleure solution.

Pour l’abattage et l’élagage d’arbre à Vaudreuil, Valleyfield et dans l’Ouest-de-l’Île, faites confiance à une équipe formée et expérimentée détenant les certifications et assurances qui vous garantissent des travaux sécuritaires et de qualité supérieure arboricole tout en respectant la nature.

Arbres et Passion

TÉLÉPHONE : 514 754-6041
COURRIEL : info@arbresetpassion.com